Book Review: The Girl Before by JP Delaney

So many book descriptions claim that a book has been written in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, but so few authors are able to pull off suspenseful, psychological thrillers in the same manner. With The Girl Before by JP Delaney, the author has succeeded in writing a book as surprising, engaging, and enticing as both Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

The skill with which Delaney writes—creating an antiseptic world filled with rich characters—is impressive and I would absolutely recommend this book to friends, blog readers, book club members, and the like.

Haven’t read Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train? Find them here:
Gone Girl | Girl on the Train

About The Girl Before by JP Delaney
The Girl Before: A NovelThe Girl Before: A Novel

The Girl Before by JP Delaney is one of those books that sucks you in from the very first page and keeps your attention until the very end. This story begins with one of the narrators revealing she’s been the victim of a burglary. As such, she and her boyfriend are looking for a new apartment to call home.

There isn’t much available in their price range, but when they’re shown an exquisite house with a unique leasing agreement, they decide to go for it. Unfortunately for Emma, the decision to rent One Folgate Street turns out to be the worst decision of her life.

Fast forward a few years, and Jane is in a similar situation to Emma. Jane hasn’t been burgled, but she’s also in a vulnerable position: Her baby was recently born still, and she’s unsure of where to move next on her limited budget. One Folgate Street, with its restrictive rental agreement, is available, and Jane falls in love with the austere house.

The reader finds herself asking: Will Jane suffer the same fate as Emma? Or will Jane be better off for having lived in the house?

&

Why Read The Girl Before by JP Delaney

The Girl Before by JP DelaneyThe Girl Before is everything you love about Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, wrapped into one book. Frankly, The Girl Before, dare I say, is even better than the other two.

In the vein of Gone Girl, The Girl Before features a manipulative and ruthless main character. And in the vein of The Girl on the Train, The Girl Before by JP Delaney features a narrator who is unreliable in the most wonderful way.

The Girl Before is both vivid and dark; shocking and engaging. It provides the best kind of psychological suspense while forcing the reader to think deeply about questions of success, discipline, manipulation, and moral issues. It’s both engaging and entertaining while being captivating and thought-provoking. If you liked the other two books mentioned in this review, you will absolutely love The Girl Before by JP Delaney. Add it to your list today.

Books mentioned in this review:

 The Girl Before: A Novel The Girl on the Train Gone Girl

&

,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes